Update Your Profile

Stay up to date with all West Point news and stay connected with fellow grads

Update your Register Entry

Cullum Files

historical records

Class Notes

login required, available to graduates & widows

Class of 1966 Plaque Dedication

Simon Center for the Professional Military Ethic

Class of 1966 Plaque Unveiling

Front: Al Nason, Ralph Cruikshank, Norm Cooney Back: Gene Atkinson, Jon Steele, BG Michael Linnington (Commandant)

Members of the Class of 1966 gathered at the Academy on 20 August for a special plaque unveiling at the Simon Center for the Professional Military Ethic. Two plaques: a Class Crest and Class Memorial Plaque, were unveiled outside of Room 303 in Nininger Hall

Colonel Doug Boone, Director of the Simon Center, and General Michael Linnington, Commandant of Cadets, joined the Class in memorializing their fallen classmates. Jon Steele ‘66, the plaque sculptor, unveiled the two plaques crafted out of bronze.

The memorial plaque commemorates the following classmates who died in combat:

Fred Gordon Bertolino

Thomas Jay Hayes IV

Frank Meszar III

Arthur George Bonifas

Richard Elmo Hood Jr.


William Douglas Booth

John Thomas Hoskins

Arthur Middleton Parker III

David Carlton Brown

Charles French Johnson Jr.

Howard Samuel Pontuck

David Rockwell Crocker Jr.

Donald Richard Judd

Frank Anthony Rybicki Jr.

Allen Ross Culpepper

Gordon Talmage Kimbrell Jr.

Frank Joseph Schap Jr.

Peter Francis Donnell

Peter James Lantz

Robert Michael Snell

John Anthony Fera

Dennis Dean Loftheim

Louis Robert Sustersic

Billy Wayne Flynn

Robert Wayne Luecke

Richard William Thompson

Michael Francis Grasafe Jr.

Hugh Robert McKibbon Jr.

David Reynolds Wilson

Fame Will Mix With ‘66

Class of 1966 Gifts $2.5 million to the SimonCenter for the Professional Military Ethic

West Point Class of '66 Gift in 2006

As a 40th Reunion gift to the Academy in 2006, the USMA Class of 1966 gifted $2.5 million to the Simon Center for the Professional Military Ethic (SCPME) to endow the Class of 1966 Chair in the Professional Military Ethic. An annual distribution from the endowment will become available for the SCPME beginning with the 2008-09 academic year. The gift is recognized at the Center, housed in Nininger Hall (the old 1st Division of the Central Area of Barracks), where the chair presides. Since July of 2000, GEN (Ret.) Fred Franks ’59 has served as the chair.

Gen FranksThe fund raising success of the Class of 1966 is attributed to the outstanding leadership provided by the Class officers and the Class Fund Raising Committee. The following class leaders deserve mention for their untiring efforts to make this a successful campaign: Norm Cooney, President; Bill Correia, Past President; and Gene Atkinson. In addition, these gentlemen were steadfastly supported by the efforts of representatives from each company in the fund raising effort.

Congratulations and thank you to the Class of 1966 for providing such outstanding support for the Academy!


SCPME web site